Introduction to Owls

Little Owl
Little Owl © Peter Walkden

Order: Strigiformes

Family: Strigidae (Owls)

There are six species of naturally occurring owl in the United Kingdom today, while a seventh, the European Eagle Owl (Bubo bubo), is living wild in England as a result of natural migration from the Continent, or as a result of escaping from bird collections.  Despite these wild populations, it is a matter of dispute as to whether the Eagle Owl is a naturalised species.

Look under the Species Menu for all our native Owls